Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Books (44)

Small people can do great things

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 2 December 2014 05:07 (A review of The Third Day, The Frost)

When I found the five parts of this series in the library, I was happy and after reading the first one, I thought: "good, I didn’t have to buy it." After reading the second part I began to regret it, and after reading the third - my grief has reached the pinnacle. In addition in my library doesn’t have the last two parts !!!

It’s possible that this book isn’t perfect, it’s possible that the actions of these young people aren’t particularly realistic, that is a lot of coincidences and happy fortunes, but the thoughts contained in it - breathtaking beaches.

“I remembered the poem Robyn had in her bedroom at Wirrawee, the one about the person saying how when she looked back along the beach she saw two sets of footprints, hers and God’s, except at the tough times, when there was only one set of footprints. And she says to God, “How come at the times when I most needed you, you weren’t there”? And God answers, “My child, I was there. Those footprints were mine; I made them when I carried you”.

At first I was very skeptical, began to duplicate the schema of the previous parts (no forces, idleness, boredom, gather yourself together and attack). Later, however, everything changed and happened something really unexpected and even after this event was very easy to predict the ending, which in light of the fact that there are still 4 parts wasn’t all that difficult, but ending... I had been stuck in the chair and began to cry. I don’t remember when I cried while reading a book... This feeling was so strong that I cann’t describe it, and even now I don’t know what else I can add... Just give ten stars.

“You have to believe in something.”


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Future is a blank sheet of paper

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 27 November 2014 09:03 (A review of The Dead Of Night (The Tomorrow Series))

“What's the Future? It's a blank sheet of paper, and we draw lines on it, but sometimes our hand is held, and the lines we draw aren't the lines we wanted.”

I have to admit that this book was really moving, and at the same time so ordinary in their simplicity. Very human characters, perhaps a little idealized, but real. Each of us could certainly identify with one of them in some way.

This part of the book even more presents moral dilemmas of young people in the face of war, all the hard decisions that they have to take, it’s about fear, about courage. In the hearts of these young people uncertainty arises, which in the face of war and the ensuing death and killing, is good and what is bad, how to behave, how to be a hero, and don’t lose at the same time humanity and do the right thing. Simultaneously they are struggling with their youth, hormones, emotions, experiencing their first, not perfect, but clumsy and uncertain sexual contact (Yes, young people having sex too! Which missing in many books about young people, where they spend a lot of nights together, snuggling and look each other in the eyes. I’m not saying that from books for young people doing porn, but let's be realistic, young people also love each other and also comes to sexual relations, and not only for kisses).

There are a couple of nonsense in this book, sometimes strikes amazing intelligence of these young people, seems to that they know everything about everything. A little irritating partisan actions carried out by them, the headquarters of foreign armed forces so poorly guarded. I hope that this will not happen in the next parts, that this frail group of people will save the whole Australia. But I think that their actions may finally lead to the creation some larger resistance movement, if it doesn’t there yet.

Overall, I think it is really worth to know this story.


1 comments, Reply to this entry

I don’t make love. I fuck… hard

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 25 November 2014 11:57 (A review of Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades #1))

Spoilers and vulgarisms zone!!! :D

A touching story of a young, rich and beautiful man with a complex personality, who loves to dominate in every area of their life, and about sensitive virgin, who loves to read serious British literature and who, despite appearances, is a very naughty girl, because she washed her teeth with his toothbrush. Both indulge in their desire and fly away by helicopter into the sunset to his house with designer bath and rococo bed to give up the pleasures of the body and fuck hard.

He is a master of fucking with abandon, she gets wet whenever he looks at her, she bites her lip, and her inner goddess dancing and doing various other strange things.

My inner goddess (if such a thing exists, because I don’t have confidence and evidence) laughs loudly at me now, because I gave yourself be tempted to read this book. I missed the phenomenon of "Twilight", perhaps because of my innate aversion to vampires and werewolves, but here, curiosity won, even though the "romance" of this kind are not to my taste.

The book really fast to read, from the beginning to the first sex passed quickly, even I was surprised when it happened and how many pages it has already passed. It took me a whole one day.

Generally speaking, it was a porn with a storyline, and sometimes I feel that this storyline is pushed just because that was something between sexual intercourse. And finally, this sex, which in the book is a lot... I tried to put myself in the erotic contacts of the main characters, and each time when I almost succeeded appeared some stupid thought of the main character in the style: "holy shit" or "Ha! My inner goddess is thrilled. I can do this. I can fuck him with my mouth.” And, unfortunately, every time this frail nucleus of my excitement was extinguished and not returning for a long time. Moreover, I think that the triangle Christian, Ana and her inner goddess is not acceptable!

When I have come to the conclusion that even sex in this book is not able to turn me on, then maybe I will focus on the complexity of Grey, on his many faces, I get into his story, the story of a fifteen-year boy who was submissive mature woman... But nothing, absolutely nothing wasn’t able to reverse my attention from the hyperactive excitement main character, and its constantly recurring shouts: "wow", "holy crap", "holy cow", "holy hell," "holy fuck" and the aforementioned "holy shit".

Summary of "holy" expressions of the first 74 pages:

“Holy cow – he’s so young.”
“holy crap, he’s so arrogant.”
“Holy crap – what was that?”
“Holy crap. What the hell is he doing here”
“I halt at his expression, his eyes darkening. Holy cow.”
„Holy Crap! He’s wearing a white shirt”
“Holy hell… what’s this about?”
“Holy crap, that’s personal.”
„Holy shit. He’s remembering the ‘gay’ question.”
“Holy crap - I just said that out loud?”
“Holy shit - they are first editions.”
“Holy crap, did I just call Christian Grey?”
“Holy crap. I pull my jeans up.”
“Holy fuck… he’s going to kiss me.”
“Holy shit! Christian Grey, he’s here.”
“Holy Moses, I’m in his arms again.”
“Holy cow – he’s leading me onto the dance floor.”
“Holy crap. I’m in the Heathman hotel…”
“No socks. No jeans. Holy shit.”
“Holy hell, he’s been working out.”
“Holy crap – my mouth dries.”
“Holy shit. What does that mean?”
“Holy shit. His other hand grabs my ponytail”
“Holy hell, is this his life,”
“Holy shit, what has he got in store for me?”
“Holy shit. It’s bad, really bad”
“Holy shit. Did I just say that?”
“Holy shit, that sounds so… hot.”
“We’re talking about cheese… Holy crap.”


Yeah, this is really a lot…

Even if this story was in itself a potential, had to be really strong erotic position, this awful language certainly destroyed everything. For the first nine chapters of reading was even funny, it’s impossible to count how many times the main character led me to laugh, then laugh replaced irritation.

In total, I have nothing more to write. One more note... at a time when women are excited by men like Christian and vampire Edward is probably really hard to be ordinary average man, who doesn’t shine, don’t live forever and isn’t rich beautiful Adonis with a complex inside and the specific sexual preference. You have heavy task, modern men, heavy, requirements suspended so damn high.

And now my inner goddess dancing hula with a sardonic smile and biting his lip and back to reading books about more affordable topics.

Did I read the next parts? I don’t know what is worse, to wade into this more deeply, or not know the ending. The question to think about.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

If I cannot inspire love, I will cause fear!

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 02:03 (A review of Frankenstein: or The Modern Prometheus)

I think it's certainly a masterpiece of literature.

Until now, I was in love with the film adaptation of Kenneth Branagh, now I think it was a good adaptation, I have certainly refresh it.

The book says a lot about feelings and emotions, this is definitely not horror, only the work describing the desires that direct human. The only downside for me, this damn language, full of sublime and strange words to present what could be summarized in a few sentences and the overlong descriptions of nature... I know, I know, Romantics excites the nature and this type of things that for me are boring and irrelevant. I like fast-paced action, concise dialogues, no bullshit. Returning to the rating, even though I don't like this epoch, I read this book with great interest and fascination, and I think it's really innovative.

“There is something at work in my soul, which I do not understand.”


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I spent my life folded between the pages of books

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 01:49 (A review of Shatter Me)

I don't know what happened. I'm now very involved in dysyopia theme, so I reached for this book. The entire 'Shatter Me' series had the best reviews of all the dystopia books (except Hunger Games of course) on the Polish literary portal. Unfortunately, I'm very disappointed.

For the first half of the book takes place romance, dystopia story is brought almost to the irrelevant background, there is only waiting, when the main characters consummate their love (which of course isn't happening :D). Later, the story gains momentum until the whole turns out to be a kind of X-Men :((. Besides too large dose of romance, silly dialogue, and quite poor vision of the world, the whole book reads very easily and quickly, I finished in two days.

After all, I give seven stars because intrigue me some issues, including why Adam and Warner can touch Juliet and I hope that this will be interesting resolved in the next part of the book. I give a chance.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hope. It's like a drop of honey...

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 01:43 (A review of Unravel Me (Shatter Me))

The second part of the trilogy was much better than the first. Finally, something happened, finally came vision of the future world (although I think it is still quite weak, underdeveloped and not much interesting), and finally it appeared a little more emotional complexities, dilemmas of the main character, and not everything turned out so black and white. The first part I rated really far-fetched seven stars, here I give a definite eight and I reach for another book very willingly.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I have learned to break free

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 01:38 (A review of Ignite Me (Shatter Me))

I think it was the best part of the whole trilogy.

I was intrigued by Warner, I started to like him more and more, just like Juliet, I think she made ​​the right choice. The only thing that made ​​me a little rejected, this sudden change in the Adam's behavior, suddenly he became weird, terribly possessive, dissimilar to himself... I don't believe in it, I think it was intentionally created to reader supported the choice of Juliet, and she isn't proved to be so unfeeling creature. Ending a little weak, terribly predictable, generally absolutely nothing happened, which couldn't be expected.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I started screaming today...

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 01:32 (A review of Unite Me (Shatter Me))

This addition to the "Shatter Me" trilogy including Juliet's
journal, and two novels: "Destroy Me", which shows the events through the Warner’s eyes since Juliet shot him (the first volume), to the moment when he sees Juliet during his playing with the dog (second volume), and "Fracture Me", showing the events seen through the Adam’s eyes, between hurting Kenji by Warner, depicting events during the battle, the destruction of the Omega Point, until Kenji informs the group that Juliet was killed by Anderson (between the second and third volume).

I'm a little disappointed. Between other things, because it was all quite secondary. Doesn’t appear too many new facts, or too many new feelings, we wouldn’t know from the trilogy. Juliet's journal in my opinion was the weakest point of the whole book, fragments was already presented in the trilogy, almost in its entirety. The story of Adam in Fracture Me doesn’t touched me particularly at all, weren’t appeared any especially new aspect, which I already didn’t know. There was a lot of blood, corpses, bomb dropped, destroyed, survivors found shelter and nothing more. Maybe if I read these stories after the second volume of the trilogy, the whole would be more interesting, I unfortunately reached for this at the end. But the big plus for the story "Destroy Me". Warner’s feelings, the way he looks at the world, was really intriguing, even read at the end. In my opinion, Warner dominated the entire trilogy and was the most interesting and complex character, and I think that despite my different feelings about this book, it was worth to buy and read.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kochanek doskonały cz.2 review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 10:57 (A review of Kochanek doskonały cz.2)

In free translation: Perfect Lover part 2

The seventh part of the story from life the nameless main character.

It was a nice book and I read quickly, in spite of everything, which would suggest the title the whole thing was very much beyond happy end. Truth be told it was one of the saddest parts so far. The main character finally collides with reality, Peter comes back from England and their imagine about themselves and expectations regarding themselves over time begin to wear off. She directed her character, experience and desire to remain in harmony with oneself, not doing anything special, to meet the expectations of his love from childhood, he is bored with her ​​constant lack of time, job responsibilities and a lack of willingness to submit to his desires... yeah... whole thing is ended quite tragically.

The bright spot was as usual humor of the main character's father:
"[...] There is no friendship between man and woman! [...] This is just a bed, and then wont. Sometimes, but rarely, happens love. And only in youth, when a man is stupid as shoe and even shit sprinkled with sugar tastes like a cake. "
His golden mean smash me on the shoulder.

Finished some stage in this part, I hope that the next two parts will not be boring, and reach for them eagerly to find out.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Beware of Doors

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 23 November 2014 10:55 (A review of Neverwhere)

I was very curious of this book and when I found this item in the library, without hesitation I took at home.

The whole, however, didn't satisfy my expectations. Regarded as the best fantasy novel of the nineties (at least that reported description on the cover), full of extraordinary adventures, colorful characters and amazing events...

Well, adventures was, without a doubt, colorful characters... I don't know, I liked even Richard, the duo Vandemar-Croup was brilliant, but the rest of characters, Angel, Marquis, Earl, Door, Rat-Speaker and other residents of London Below, including rats, not exactly in my taste. All of this was too much. However, the vision of London Below was quite interesting, original.

The last objection I address it towards the end of, which isn't surprising. Summing up all the pros and cons, I rate this story to weak seven stars. Not really impresses, but it doesn't disappoint.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block