Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Books (44)

I am never going to forget you

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 23 November 2014 10:53 (A review of The Darkest Minds)

“The Darkest Minds tend to hide behind the most unlikely faces.”

I don't really know where to start... I finished reading yesterday and yesterday I wanted to rate this book on nine stars, almost as if some Orange tinkered in my brain :) However, I slept with my thoughts and I think eight will be really honest.

At the beginning I wasn't thrilled, it was hard to drawn into what's going on, but it seems to me this is normal, this is my first contact with this author, I had to get used to her style of presenting events. Later, I was literally sucked into this extremely interesting and cruel world, and despite many things that still annoyed me, I stopped to pay attention to it and gave it to grab in action. As it usually happens to me - I was unable to make friends with the main character, many of her decisions, especially at the end, terribly annoyed me, but I think that Lee was really interesting. All four of the main characters was quite remarkable, and it wasn't hard to lose yourself in the story.

Romantic topic terribly lame, but the ending - strong and literally erases all thoughts from the head, leaving only curiosity, uncertainty and multiple scenarios of what the reader will meet in the next part.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Later, gator

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 23 November 2014 10:51 (A review of The Darkest Minds: Never Fade)

I don't have here too much to say...

Book absorbed, it's true, but between paragraphs was slightly boring and I feel disappointment. I think that the first part was better, left at the end of a huge wow, that here were gone, nor at the end, or in any other place, maybe outside appearance of Cole, who in my eyes definitely outshone his brother, I regret that at pages of the book
he was so rare. The other new characters have also been positive, especially Vida.

Unfortunately, a big minus for me was that the main character with a pretty fascinating person turned into an annoying female version of Rambo. Additionally League probably laundered her feelings, I didn't feel her longing for Liam, I didn't understand the motivation her conduct in many moments of the book. Lee also disappointed me, to disgust holds only its own right.

After all, I played pretty well, and I will wait for the continuation.

“Later, gator."
"In an hour, sunflower.”


0 comments, Reply to this entry

We have to create our own tomorrow...

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 23 November 2014 09:59 (A review of Tomorrow, When the War Began)

I ran into this book completely by chance while searching for some interesting dystopian items for young people. I said "why not?" and added a whole series on the waiting list to read in the future, but absolutely never heard of this book, nor about screening. The greater was my surprise when I found five volumes in the library, also a complete coincidence :)

The beginning of the book aroused in me the fear, that it will not my taste, completely foreign environment for me, the Australian provinces, in addition to a fairly large number of foreground characters at a time, I thought it would be really hard to make friends with them, get to know them and empathize a whole. However, I was wrong.

Book absorbed, the events described in it were interesting, the relationship between the characters, maybe not the best constructed, but they were simple, clear and transparent, without any unnecessary beating about the bush, everything was spoken in a language accessible to potential young readers, but not only, for me as well.

Action construction reminded me a movie "Red Dawn" and I think that is something in it. You may be surprised how young people in the face of danger takes courage like this, you may think that this is all nonsense, but in my opinion it's really reliable, clear example of this are all the wars that have been in the past, all of the scouts, guerrillas in their own way fighting with oppression.

I think that this book was a good start to the series and I really cann't wait to continue.

And most importantly, I liked the main character and narrator of the story, which rarely happens to me.

Among the minuses I can mention quite modest scratch feelings of other characters, but it's probably fault first person narrative, and the lack of a negative character, they all are quite perfect, ad nauseam.

The next step will be to watch screening, although I'm terribly afraid that it doesn't show fully characters, that everything will be superficial there and that make of these ordinary people, led by fear and emotion, superheroes brandishing weapons and saving the world from the invasion.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Eat or you will get eaten

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 22 November 2014 04:58 (A review of The Time Machine)

My first review :P

Warning, plenty of spoilers :)

I didn't know before this story in the original, so I have to admit that the Time Machine plowed my brain, like a herd of hurtling buffaloes. I still don't know exactly what to write, so maybe I'll start from the end. Ending made I tried to fall asleep at night and haunt me only one thought: "No, no, no, it cann't end like this, the world cann't moving towards end." Why even aim for something and exist when in the future is nothing?

I think I've never read a book where the action goes so far into the future and Wells vision seems to me terribly frightening. Everything I've read so far about the future world, totalitarian governments, hunger games, big mazes, zombies or worms from outer space is a small piece of cake, because in each of this dystopian vision there are people and they are struggling in some way for their humanity, fighting for a better tomorrow...

A better tomorrow isn't in the vision of Wells. Man becomes either Morlock, ape from the underworld, or grub for the Morlocks, farmed like cows in the meadow... And later there is nothing left...

It's really sad.

Done! I'm sorry for all the mistakes :)


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 2 3 4 5Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block